In 2003, the Upstate Chapter of the American Planning Association, together with the Department of Urban and Regional Planning at the University at Buffalo, established the Michael Krasner Memorial Scholarship in Planning. Mike was an adjunct professor at UB and a practicing planner in Western New York.

The annual award honors his memory as well as his commitment to practice and education in urban and regional planning within Western New York.

A $1,500 tuition scholarship is awarded annually to a student entering their final year of graduate study in the Department of Urban and Regional Planning at UB whose academic interests and professional career plans exemplify a commitment to planning issues in WNY.

Please help future planners by making a donation to the Krasner Scholarship Fund! Donations can be made by contacting us via our email at to make arrangements.

2020 Michael J. Krasner Memorial Scholarship Award Winner
Chris Platt
University at Buffalo

                Past Winners

                       2019 - Grace DeSantis

                       2018 - Jeffrey Rehler

                       2017 - David Riley

                       2016 - Michael E. Tuzzo V

                       2015 - Nathan Aldrich

                       2014 - Jeffery Amplement

                       2013 - Melanie Reimondo

                       2012 - Christina Farrell

                       2011 - Tamara Wright

                       2010 - Tyler Mekus

                       2009 - Christopher Schaut

                       2008 - Brittany DiLeo

                       2007 - Arlene Rodriguez

                       2006 - Mark Rountree

                       2005 - Christopher Parezo

                       2004 - Eric Ameigh