In 2003, the Upstate Chapter of the American Planning Association, together with the Department of Urban and Regional Planning at the University at Buffalo, established the Michael Krasner Memorial Scholarship in Planning.  Mike was an adjunct professor at UB and a practicing planner in Western New York.


The annual award honors his memory as well as his commitment to practice and education in urban and regional planning within Western New York.


A $1,500 tuition scholarship is awarded annually to a student entering their final year of graduate study in the Department of Urban and Regional Planning at UB whose academic interests and professional career plans exemplify a commitment to planning issues in WNY.
Please help future planners by making a donation to the Krasner Scholarship Fund!  Donations can be made online via PayPal or contact us at to make other arrangements.

2017 Michael J. Krasner Memorial Scholarship Award Winner
David Riley
University at Buffalo

        Past Winners

               2016 - Michael E. Tuzzo V

               2015 - Nathan Aldrich

               2014 - Jeffery Amplement

               2013 - Melanie Reimondo

               2012 - Christina Farrell

               2011 - Tamara Wright

               2010 - Tyler Mekus

               2009 - Christopher Schaut

               2008 - Brittany DiLeo

               2007 - Arlene Rodriguez

               2006 - Mark Roundtree

               2005 - Christopher Parezo

               2004 - Eric Ameigh